Poetry Contest Winners

Literati Cafe Poetry Contest

Congratulations to everyone who participated in the 9th Anniversary Poetry Contest. We were overwhelmed and inspired by your creative poems about Literati Cafe.

You were invited to write a poem about Literati Cafe with 9 lines or less to celebrate the Cafe’s 9th year, and as true Creative Geniuses, you delivered! Thank you for sharing your writing. Bravo!

With so many amaznig submissions, our Judges, Patricia Kouba (Literati Cafe Owner and published writer) and Julie Corman (World Famous Producer and former Dean of the NYU School of Film), had a real challenge determining a winning poem. So Paty decided that in addition to the winners, all participants will receive a free organic coffee or tea just for playing along.

The winners of the Creative Genius Award are:

First Place: Eric Steineger

 Last Call at the Literati Café

 You regret having caught them. The icons, sure of 4am’s

lax surveillance, had decided to waltz. You were

just walking past and happened to peek inside.

In a chorus of shadows, there was Al Pacino dipping

Julie Christie. Even Robin Williams focused on the count

as Marilyn offered her smile. They were waltzing!

But you hovered too long. Ray Carver seized the lights

from behind the front door. His hard stare told you

this scene was private. Tables pushed to one side.

 

First Runner Up: Sebastian Davis

 Pick Me Up

 A boy walks into a café. He lost his girl, his love, today,

And vows to write of his dismay,

But first he orders a latte.

He smiles. For in his milk a heart is drawn.

Alarmed, his sadness is now gone,

His muse pranced off like a woodland fawn.

“I can’t write of heartbreak now!”

But the barista smiles, ‘cause she knows how:

“Just use your imagination, pal.” And so he writes.

 

Judges Award: Rita Huang

 Speak Easy

 Photographs of artists stare soulfully out at me.

Actually it’s the same celeb

Ray Bradbury.

Here at my favorite table.

 I call our spot my home away from home

But I only have it on a loan.

Oh, if these walls could speak,

They would say, We look good.

 Write on.

 

Judges Award: Edy Moran

 Literati Café

 Day after day the routine overwhelms me,

And just the scent of your café turns my soul on,

My hungry mind in you satisfied

And my heart beats with the taste of your mint.

 Nine Calendars have gone by,

Nine candles that have lit my inspiration,

Inspiration that dances at the rhythm of your sazon,

 I hope your café’s aroma continues to stick to my life,

Like the dew on the roses and the breeze to the sea.

 

Judges Award: Kristan LaViets

 Literati

 Song of the Laptops – tpip tpip tick tick tick

Things in frames, Etta James

“Saloon keeper, pour me another

lemonade. Obliged.”

 (Now I’ve been trying to remedy

a surplus of drama in my writing, but…)

If I am ever in a coma

I hope I dream the whole time

that I am here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Contests

Leave a comment